Nell’s Spring/Summer Picks

essence colour&go  109 off to miami

essence colour&go 109 off to miami

My first pick is another one from the colour&go range with a cream finish. We all know I love this finish and off to miami is no exception. It is opaque in 2 thin or 1 thick coat, super glossy and smooth. The color is a very pretty pinky peachy coral, very bright, almost like neon on the nails. This is available in the standard range and I wore it over p2 Ridgefiller and under the essence top sealer. Just like the other ones it lasted well without chipping or flaking on my nails.

essence beach cruisers keep calm and go to the beach (needed the flash here to make the gold visible, you can see it quite well in reality though in most lights)

essence beach cruisers keep calm and go to the beach (needed the flash here to make the gold visible, you can see it quite well in reality though in most lights)

 

Pick #2 is also by essence and it is a limited edition shade but for me it is more about the color than about this specific polish. I love turquoise at the moment and I know other brands have various versions of their own of this color and I’m sure you will find your perfect turquoise there should you be on the hunt for one. The one I chose is essence beach cruisers collection in keep calm and go to the beach. It is a creamy sand with a soft golden sparkle to it. It was perfectly opaque in two coats and dried really gritty.

essence colour and go redvolution (sun/flash/artificial light)

essence colour and go redvolution (sun/flash/artificial light)

My next pick is another colour&go polish from the standard range (can you tell I love those at the moment? 😀 ). With this shade I am a bit at a loss. It is a rather bright red, the brightest that I own, but I can’t decide if it’s neutral or slightly cool toned, but when I look at it now it looks almost orange. Suffice it to say it is really red. In the picture you can see three coats over OPI Nail Envy and under essence better than gel nails top sealer. It is NOT opaque in these three coats. It looks decent in the pictures but in RL I can see nail lines. I like the color a lot and it is not too bad, but if nail lines bother you steer clear of this one or try it out over a light opaque base. It dried really glossy and lasted really well on my nails.

essence show your feet 27 electric blue

essence show your feet 27 electric blue

Pick #4 has to be an example for the color as well because it was recently pulled from the range unfortunately. In the picture you can see essence show your feet 27 electric blue. It is a luminous medium blue, almost like one of those deep neons. It needed two coats which makes me a bit grumpy as the other show your feet polishes are usually opaque in one coat. They are specifically formulated for your toes and are supposedly longer lasting and better pigmented than the regular ones. Way back when they were actually anti-bacterial as well. I generally like the range a lot but this one was a bit sheer and streaky. That color, tho! Illamasqua has a similar color in the range as does Catrice ‘Shopping at Bluemingdales’ and p2 and probably NYX as well.

Photo 08-05-2014 10 43 09

Maybelline Super Stay 7 days Gel Nail Color 125 Enduring Pink (+ p2 go crazy as accent nail)

My final pick is Maybelline’s Enduring Pink, a super bright and creamy pink. It is almost like a pale neon. It seems to have a lot of white pigment in which means it is pretty opaque for such a bright color. I painted it in three coats anyway to get it perfectly smooth and even. Drying time was quick and with the essence top sealer it wore perfectly for the five days I wore it until I was craving another color. It would have lasted longer I am sure despite work and everything. It dried quite glossy on its own, too. I love this pink so much, it is by far my favorite. This polish is with 4,50€ on the pricier side for drugstore but the quality is definitely there. (I have their mint color still on my list as well *naughty)

 

Here we go guys! Those are my spring/summer picks. I know I am quite heavy on the creamy side but I am a little over the shimmers at the moment. What are your spring/summer picks this year? More creams or more shimmers?

Cheers, guys! Have a lovely day 🙂

Leave a Reply

