Snowhoney’s “St. Patricks Day” NotD: Green, Glitter & Shamrock

Hi nailjunkies and lovely St. Patrick’s Day for you!

I have always loved Ireland – and I’ve never been there! oO – and a lot of Irish stuff like Guinness, irish music, irish whiskey, irish myths and legends… somehow it all appeals to me a lot. I suppose that is because of the tight link Ireland has to everything celtic/gaelic.
You might know or not know that I am half French/half German and on the French side of my family we have ties to old Celtic tribes in Bretagne (at least that is what my uncle found out, he is researching family history). Maybe that is why I am so appealed by it 😉

Anyways, I love festivities and making a Nail of the Day in honour of it, so why not take St. Patricks Day? Little history of St. Patrick:
Saint Patrick’s Day or the Feast of Saint Patrick (Irish: Lá Fhéile Pádraig, “the Day of the Festival of Patrick”) is a cultural and religious holiday celebrated on 17 March. It is named after Saint Patrick (c. AD 385–461), the most commonly recognised of the patron saints of Ireland.
Saint Patrick’s Day was made an official Christian feast day in the early seventeenth century and is observed by the Catholic Church, the Anglican Communion (especially the Church of Ireland), the Eastern Orthodox Church and Lutheran Church. The day commemorates Saint Patrick and the arrival of Christianity in Ireland, as well as celebrates the heritage and culture of the Irish in general. Celebrations generally involve public parades and festivals, céilithe, and the wearing of green attire or shamrocks.

So green is pretty much mandatory and as I am a big fan of green in general, no problem. Today, I want to show you some ideas for manicures, as I had a hard time deciding what to wear on my nails. Here is idea number 1:

CIMG4408

It is green. It glitters. Perfect, right? I have had so much fun wearing this mani. Base is a great vivd green from Catrice “I’m not a greenager”. Unfortunately that shade is no longer available from the range. 2 coats to make it look sleek and it was a perfect base to try my various glitter toppers that suit St. Paddy’s. On the thumb I wear Different Dimension’s “Wee bit Irish” (a polish you will see later on again), on the index and pinky finger I wear Butter London’s “Stratford Honey” and on the middle and ringfinger I’m wearing Butter London’s “Swinger”.

This mani is easy, it is green & glittery and really really pretty. I loved wearing it and I even wore it to the office and nobody minded. My easy manicure for St. Patrick’s Day 😉

CIMG4410

Here is idea number 2:

CIMG4433

This one is a bit trickier and my very first attempt at really “drawing” something onto my nails. I am very happy with this as the first result, because (my boyfriend verified this!) you can see that this is meant to be a shamrock. Yay me 😀 The other nails are rather simple. As you can see my new favourite green is on the thumb, the index and the pinky: “Leprechaun’s Gold” by Liquid Sky Lacquer. On the ringfinger I’m wearing “I’m not a Greenager” from Catrice, topped with Different Dimension’s “Wee bit Irish”. Love love LOVE this glitter topper! Onto my special nail… I’m wearing a white polish as base – “51 French White” from Maybelline Colorama – and with a dotting tool as my paintbrush I drew a shamrock with the Catrice polish. This was very easy as you might know that a shamrock looks like a few hearts thrown together 😉 Very easy and I’m sure you can do it too!

CIMG4466
And just because I can, I then topped off my shamrock with “Stratford Honey” by Butter London to make it a bit more special. I am very happy with the result though of course it could be better, but hey, I’m only starting my nail art career 😀

Are you having a special mani for St. Patty’s, too? I’d love to see your pics!
Snowhoney

Leave a Reply

