Snowhoney’s NotD: Dalmatians Tan Lines

Hi nailpolish junkies!

Welcome to another Nail of the Day. This one should have been a pure swatch for you, but I have to admit… the colour I bought and painted looked so bad with my skintone that I had to use a topper. And I am really glad I did, because the result amazes me:

Tan Lines Dalmatians NotD

Dalmatians Tan Lines NotD

Base is Maybelline’s “Tan Lines” from their Stripped Nude Color Show Limited Edition. I love nudes, as you already know, and looked at the colours very closely and I realized I had similar colours at home, but Tan Lines looked different, so I gave it a new home. Curious as I was, I painted it once I was home and thought: Damn that looks stupid with my skin. To be honest, I never had this impression before, so I was completely bewildered and unhappy, but as I had bought a topper too, I thought I’d try them out together.

And that was luck now šŸ˜‰ I love the combination with essence’s new topper “Black Dress & White Tie”. I think the topper might become a staple, because it seems this would make a lot of ‘boring’ polishes super interesting. As it only contains a little silver glitter plusĀ black and white hexes in various sizes I suppose it will work beautifully with every colour. Application was super easy, despite the fact that there is a lot of clear base. Placement of the glitter and hexes was no problem and the only reason I had to do two coats was that I really didn’t like how Tan Lines clashed with my skin.

2014-02-07 20.13.42
2014-02-07 20.13.48

I think this topper makes for a beautiful addition in everyone’s stash, because despite most nail art-y stuff being too flashy for most conservative work environments (i.e. banks maybe?) this one really isn’t. Someone at work – a good old lady in her mid 50’s – noticed my nails and was all over it. She thought it looked really classy and asked me to write down what I used so she could get the products for her daughter who is about my age.

I recommend everyone to snatch up this topper, it is amazing! I can’t stop to stare at my nails šŸ˜‰ What do you say, you want it?
Snowhoney

One thought on “Snowhoney’s NotD: Dalmatians Tan Lines

  1. Pingback: Jumble Spoiler – 03/22/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

