Nell’s New In: Catrice Crushed Crystals 05 Stardust 06 Call Me Princess + Swatches

Photo 03-01-2014 21 18 42

Oh dear God. You know how I like textured nailpolishes and sparkly sandstyles, right? So yeah, Catrice just created something beautiful and threw it on the market. Look at the glittery goodness above!

About a month or so, I received the press release for the obligatory sneak peek selection of Catrice products, among those the so called Crushed Crystals. A range of polishes that reminded me vividly of the p2 Sand Styles, my favorite line of textured polishes. Well I found them today (at least two of them) and they are stunners.

05 Stardust (middle finger) and 06 Call Me Princess indirect artificial light

05 Stardust (middle finger) and 06 Call Me Princess indirect artificial light

direct artificial lighting (halogen bulb)

direct artificial lighting (halogen bulb)

left 06 Call Me Princess; right  05 Stardust

left 06 Call Me Princess; right 05 Stardust

Stardust is a sheer grey base jampacked with silver glitter and smaller black bits, Call Me Princess is a sheer pink base with a strong golden shift and golden iridescent glitter. Unfortunately the camera once again won’t do it justice.

They do go on sheer. In the pictures you can see two coats of each over the p2 ridgefiller that I am testing at the moment (yes, somewhere hell must be freezing over, the end is near, she just used a new base coat oO oh well 😀 ) After the second coat Call Me Princess was still somewhat sheer so that you can still see nail line. Normally that is a massive no-no for me , I just can’t stand it on me, however, the glitter and shimmer is so strong that it completely distracts me from the nail line. Stardust is completely opaque in two coats. I just painted them so I can’t say anything about the staying power of these. I wear them without a topcoat. They are about as gritty in finish as the p2 Sand Styles. You definitely could try to even them out with a thick gel top coat but I like them like this.
They dried slower than the p2’s but still relatively quick. In about ten minutes you can fully use your hands again.

They come in the 10ml/0.33fl.oz. regular Catrice bottle BUT they are about 50 cents more expensive than the regular polishes at 3.25€. Considering that the p2 Sand Styles are about 50 cents more expensive than the regular range polishes, too, I guess it’s alright. (However, the essence Sand Styles go for the same money as the other color&go polishes, curious.)

I really love looking at them and surprisingly it is Call Me Princess that I think I will get a lot of wear out of, especially in spring/summer. Stardust will come in handy for the next few cold and dark weeks. All in all I would say they are very similar to the p2’s, though (which come in about 1.30€ cheaper).

What do you think? Yes? No? Maybe?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Nell’s New In: Catrice Crushed Crystals 05 Stardust 06 Call Me Princess + Swatches

Leave a Reply

