Nell’s Where Have I Been and What Have I Been Wearing on My Nails?

I neglected you guys, I am so sorry! If you follow my personal blog Carpe Noctem you may know why. I decided to do blogmas on my personal blog and life happened and I totally underestimated how crazy christmas time would be and how much I would have to do. BUT as a little treat I decided to catch you up on what I have been wearing on my nails since I last posted on here with Moonless Night.

There were three polishes I wore one of them twice, so here we go:

 

Catrice 10 I'm Not A Greenager + Maybelline Color Show Polka Dots 200 Rain Forest Canopy

Catrice 10 I’m Not A Greenager + Maybelline Color Show Polka Dots 200 Rain Forest Canopy

The first one I want to share with you is actually a ‘Travelling Nailpolish’ which basically means I borrowed this from my lovely Munderoon when I visited her earlier this month. It is Catrice’s I’m Not A Greenager with Maybelline’s Rain Forest PCanopy from the Polka Dots collection on my ring finger as an accent nail. Rain Forest Canopy is a blue-green jelly with different sizes of black and white hexagonal bits (I kind of object to calling those matte bits glitter, because they don’t in fact glitter [I’m Β a bit weird like that, sorry!]). The Catrice polish is a rich grassy-green creme finish. Sorry about cleaning up the edges here, this picture went up on instagram (nellvmars) and when I put this post together I realized it is the only one I took. -.- I really enjoyed wearing this, it is a bit out there -as you will see I kinda wore rather muted, classical colors for the rest of the month- but even the kid that I tutor once I week commented on my nails and said he thought they were ‘cool’, so there πŸ˜€ The polish was easy to put on, wore well, and was nice and opaque in two coats. I wore it with my regular duo of OPI and essence. Loved it πŸ™‚

OPI Russian Navy + OPI Polka.Com

OPI Russian Navy + OPI Polka.Com

Goodness gracious Russian Navy! Add that to the list of things xKarenina made me buy. This may be the most beautiful take on navy blue I have ever seen. It may just look like blackened blue shimmer at first until you tilt your hands and BAM there is that red shimmer. On the nails it is not as prominent as in the bottle unfortunately but you can still see it (in the picture you can see it slightly on my middle finger). Opaque in one generous or two thinner coats – in the pic you can see two coats. I love OPI polishes, I have yet to come across a bad egg. The formula is super easy to paint, dries fast and glossy and the brush is one of the best I ever used.

On my ring finger I used OPI’s Polka.com to accentuate. Whoever decided to put these two together in a set deserves a medal or something. I think they are perfect together. Polka.com is a clear base with pink, blue and purple big hexagonal glitter with some smaller purple hexagonal glitter strewn in. It takes a little dabbing to get the glitter evenly onto the nail but I didn’t find it too bothersome. Again, I used my OPI Nail Envy as a base and essence better than gel nails top sealer (you know the drill by now). I can’t wait to paint this again *__*

essie sable collar

essie sable collar

essie’s sable collar is the polish I wore twice this month, I am so in love with it. It was my christmas mani, too. This polish has made the rounds on youtube and the bloggosphere and with every right I think. It has this glow-from-within sheen, with deep plummy red shimmer and a purpley greay cast. I think it is the perfect shade. Period. Neutral without being boring, dark without being too vampy, classy with a twist. I think it looks quite sophisticated and put together but it is still dark enough that I can comfortably wear it. essie really created something gorgeous and quite unique here, I don’t know a dupe anyway. sable collar was limited edition here in GER but I think in the states it is permanent, maybe in the UK, too. If you like shades like this I highly recommend you take a look, because on top of everything it is great quality as well. It was opaque in two coats and dried quickly. Underneath and over top I used, all together now: OPI and essence, yes, correct! πŸ™‚

You are all caught up now! I hope you enjoyed reading this post. You may see some of these again in my december favorites and I will ‘see’ you again in a couple of days, guys. Hope you are having a good day! Bye, guys!

One thought on “Nell’s Where Have I Been and What Have I Been Wearing on My Nails?

  1. Pingback: Our 100th post: The Purple, the Dots’n’Stripes and the Heartfelt Crappy | sisterhood of the travelling nailpolish

Leave a Reply

