Nell’s Organization and Storage

So, this sunday I decided to re-organize my polishes after it felt like more of them were out of their boxes than in them.
Nope, my storage is not particularly professional but it works for me. Care to take a look?

Top Coats and Spare Nail Care Polishes

Top Coats and Spare Nail Care Polishes

First off I seperate the toppers from the solid color polishes and not to waste precious space I keep them with spare nail hardeners, base coats, etc. I also keep my special essence toe nail polishes in here. If you want, I can do a seperate post on the toppers, I just have a few because until recently I wasn’t really into them, still I somehow managed to accumulate 6 crackles 😀 This is the one half empty box. Now on to the other ones:

How I sort my color polishes

How I sort my color polishes

There are two brands that I have quite a huge selection of: essence and Catrice. Above you can see how I sort my Catrice polishes. I keep the limited shades (bottom row) seperated from the regular ones and then sorted by number. I love how you can tell that I love my darks and reds from this collection.

Catrice, essie, Deborah Lippmann, Astor Fashion Studio and h&m

Catrice, essie, Deborah Lippmann, Astor Fashion Studio and h&m

Not to waste space I filled this box with other brand collections. I sort all of them by number except essie which I sort in the order that I bought them (don’t ask!).

essence and butter London

essence and butter London

Next my essence polishes. The bottom rows are the old color&go’s by number, then the new ones and then limited edition shades, also by number. Weirdly with essence I have more limited edition polishes than regular ones. In the corner you can see my single butter London shade British Racing Green. The color is nice but the quality wasn’t worth the 17€ I paid, hence it is the only one.

p2, OPI and miscellaneous box

p2, OPI and miscellaneous box

The last box holds my p2 collection, manhattan, OPI, astor, maybelline and all the other brands that don’t need a box of their own.

I keep all of my polishes standing up or upside down if they have a black cap that prevents me from seeing the color inside. I used to keep them just lying jumbled up in a basket a while back because I thought it just felt cool to run my fingers through the sheer mass of them and re-discovering them everytime I chose a new one to paint my nails. Aside from not being exactly practical I noticed that my nailpolishes seperated more and earlier than when I kept them standing up. I also prefer keeping them dark and cool or at least out of the sun to prevent the chemicals from reacting and the nailpolishes from changing consistency and going bad. I don’t know if that actually makes sense or if that is just me being weird. But so far it seems to work for me, none have gone bad on me yet. (I also go through my collection every couple of weeks and shake the seperated ones up to get them back to normal. Shaking means rolling between my palms here, I’m really weird about chemical substances, don’t get me started on my perfume collection -.-)

At the moment I just don’t have the space but when my living situation changes I want to get proper storage like an IKEA Alex or Helmer to keep everything organized. For know I make do with the boxes (which are old GlossyBoxes that Snowhoney kindly gave me), they have just the right size and height.

How do you store your collection? What are your favorite tips and tricks for keeping nailpolishes from going bad?

Leave a Reply

